Flickr To Start Deleting Free Account Images in March – Tech Voice Africa


SmugMug, Flickr’s new owner, decided to implement a radical change to the image and video hosting service in November last year.

SmugMug changed free accounts and replaced the 1TB storage limit with 1,000 photos or videos (regardless of size). On Jan. 8, any account over the new limit would be blocked from uploading anything new.

The backlash of that is, on March 12, free accounts will start having images and videos deleted automatically if they’re over the new limit.

Flickr changed the image deletion date from February 5 after some users faced technical issues while trying to salvage their photos.

“Based on feedback from our members and complications some members experienced when downloading photos yesterday, we’ve extended our deletion eligibility deadline until March 12, 2019,” the platform said in a press release.

“We hope this extension gives (users) the time to make the best decision on how they would like to protect and enjoy their photos,” Flickr added.

The deletion will work backwards, removing the oldest images and videos first. If they aren’t backed up, they will be gone forever so many users need to recover them, depending on how far over the 1,000 assets limit they are.

An alternative to downloading user assets is to instead subscribe to a Flickr Pro account.

It costs $50 a year and removes the storage limit, doesn’t display any adverts, and allows users access to advanced stats regarding the performance of their images and videos.

Flickr also gained support for 5K photo sizes and videos can now be up to 10 minutes long (the previous limit was three minutes).

By:ZuvielNaazie/techvoiceafrica.com

…read more

Source:: Daily times

      

(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *