A Week In Singapore On A $48,630 Salary

Welcome toMoney Diaries , where we’re tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We’re asking millennials how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period — and we’re tracking every last dollar.

Today: a structural engineer working in consulting who makes $48,630 per year and spends some of her paycheck this week on pizza. Editor’s note: All prices have been converted to U.S. dollars.

Occupation: Structural Engineer
Industry: Consulting
Age: 28
Location: Singapore
Salary: $48,630
Paycheck Amount (1x/month): $4,050

Monthly Expenses
Rent: $720 for my share. (I live with three housemates.)
Student Loan Payments: None. (I paid off my $33,300 in student loans three years ago.)
Utilities, Internet & Cleaning ~$91
Health Insurance: $o. (Doctor’s visits and specialists’ treatments are covered by my company.)
Private Health & Life Insurance: $122
Pension: $202. (My company matches 80% of it.)
Phone Bill: $24
Public Transportation Card: $30
Income Tax: $182. (Interest-free monthly payment of last year’s income tax.)
Investment: $600, automatically taken out of my savings account to invest in Singapore’s Straits Times Index.
Savings: ~$730, most of which will go into my Vanguard Index Fund eventually.

Day One

6:50 a.m. — Time to get up. I’ve been planning to start exercising at home in the mornings, but my boyfriend stayed over last night, so I don’t this morning. I rush to get ready for work, as I like to get in early on Mondays. Breakfast is just a glass of almond milk.

8:20 a.m. — I need coffee! My coffee connoisseur colleagues loathe the office coffee, but I don’t mind it. I like good coffee, but I don’t like to shell out $2-$4 a pop for it, so I recently invested in a single serve French press and signed up for a coffee subscription service that sends me a new blend every few weeks at $14.40 per bag. I make myself a cup.

12:30 p.m. — Lunchtime! It has been quite a stressful morning. I usually eat the same meal for lunch every day and I really don’t mind it: a vegetarian wrap from a place near my office, which I eat at my desk. I rarely eat out with my colleagues, except for birthdays or project celebrations. Lunchtime is my “me” time. $5.70

1 p.m. — My BF’s birthday is in a week and he already told me what he wants: the latest volume of a manga he’s been reading. It was only just released today and no local bookstore is carrying it yet, so I place an order online. Cross my fingers it will arrive before his birthday! $20

9:30 p.m. — Wow, it’s been a long and stressful day at work. I have a big deadline at the end of this month, so I will probably work late most nights and won’t have much of a social life until then! Most food places are already closed by now, so I go to a supermarket nearby to grab discounted sushi packs from the deli counter for dinner. There’s a discount on my favorite Kettle Chips, so I grab those too. My BF is staying over again …read more

Source:: Refinery29


(Visited 6 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *