A Week In Long Beach, CA, On A $75,000 Salary

Welcome toMoney Diaries , where we’re tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We’re asking millennials how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period — and we’re tracking every last dollar.

Today: a project director working in substance abuse treatment who makes $75,000 per year and spends some of her paycheck this week at Trader Joe’s.

Occupation: Project Director
Industry: Substance Abuse Treatment
Age: 31
Location: Long Beach, CA
Salary: $75,000
Paycheck Amount (2x/month): $1,998

Monthly Expenses
Rent: $0. (My husband pays rent and I pay for utilities and food. We keep our finances separate, which works well for us. We have joint savings goals, however, we are free to spend our money how we please as long as we take care of our individual responsibilities. We discuss large purchases and budgeting together, though.)
Student Loan Payment: $605
Utilities: $270
Phone Bill: $95
Gas: $140
Tithes: $200
Car Insurance: $95
Disneyland Pass: $114
Medical Insurance: $500
Credit Card: $800
Private Practice: $200
Gym Membership: $40
Daycare: $400

Day One

7 a.m. — I wake up late as usual. My alarm clock known as my four-month-old baby slept in a bit. (She usually wakes around 6 to eat.) I get up and warm her bottle, feed her, and change her. After she eats I can usually count on her going back to sleep until we leave for the day, but today there is no mini nap. I quickly get dressed and we head out the door. I drop her at Grandma’s house. (I pay my sister-in-law monthly to watch her three days a week – I am so lucky!) I head to work, late as usual.

9 a.m. — I sneak into the office, drop off my stuff and walk down to the coffee shop on the corner. I oversee a very small staff of people who are are great at their jobs and therefore do not need micromanagement, which I love. By the time I get into the office, our clients are in group and things are running smoothly. I order a decaf coffee (I’m breastfeeding so I limit my caffeine intake, but I love my coffee) and a breakfast croissant with ham, cheese, red onion, and tomato. So good. $9.44

1 p.m. — It’s been a typical Monday – small fires and chaos and whatnot. I take a moment to text my sister-in-law asking for a picture of my babe! She loves her aunt and every picture is always a smiley one, unless she’s hangry. I miss her so much but I also love the freedom of my job. It’s a good balance: I get enough time to be a decisive and articulate individual and then get to go home and be a silly mommy and wife. I am getting pretty hangry myself and I don’t want to spend any more money at the coffee shop today. So I eat an everything bagel from my fridge at work and snack on trail mix that I keep in my drawer. That …read more

Source:: Refinery29


(Visited 4 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *